You are here

ESO awarded "Community Relations of the Year" for 2020 by ICO

ESO awarded "Community Relations of the Year" for 2020 by ICO

For immediate release
March 1, 2020

ICO Awards Committee, Gregory Clemons, Chair

Illinois Council of Orchestras Announces Annual Awards

The Illinois Council of Orchestras is pleased to announce the 2020 recipients of its annual awards for excellence in the field of music performance and for support of musical organizations. An awards panel of judges drawn from the Illinois Council of Orchestras Board of Directors and independent professional conductors and musicians reviewed nominations representing orchestras, youth orchestras, and chamber ensembles from throughout Illinois.

The 2020 ICO Awards:

Professional Orchestra of the Year
Illinois Philharmonic Orchestra, Stilian Kirov, Music Director

Community Orchestra of the Year
Quincy Symphony Orchestra, Bruce Briney, Music Director

Board President of the Year
David Leehey, President, The Symphony of Oak Park & River Forest

Executive Director/General Manager of the Year
Donna Milanovich, Chicago Philharmonic

Programming of the Year
New Philharmonic, Kirk Muspratt, Artistic Director & Conductor

Community Relations of the Year
Evanston Symphony Orchestra, Lawrence Eckerling, Music Director

Volunteer of the Year
Anthony Riani, Elgin Youth Symphony Orchestra

The Illinois Council of Orchestras was founded in 1974 with a mission:

• to encourage, promote, and assist orchestras throughout the State of Illinois

• to promote an exchange of information among members, including providing consultants and speakers

• to hold educational conferences for member organizations, including musicians, staff, boards, volunteers, and audiences.

Presentation of the ICO Awards will take place during March through July 2020 at local concerts and other events of the winning orchestras. Information about the Illinois Council of Orchestras is available at:


Original release at