You are here

October 2017 Concert

2:30 pm
Sunday, October 22, 2017


Our 72nd season of diverse music from many lands opens with Robert Schumann’s overture for a staged version of Byron’s romantic epic detailing the turbulent life of his anti-hero Manfred, and closes with Beethoven’s masterpiece of rhythm, his Seventh Symphony. Rising star William Hagen makes his ESO debut in a cornerstone of the repertoire, the Violin Concerto by Finland’s most famous composer, Jan Sibelius.


Go To Videos

Musical Insights Free Pre-Concert Preview the Friday before this concert.
Learn How to Attend!

  • Schumann
  • Manfred Overture
  • Sibelius
  • Violin Concerto in D Minor

    William Hagen, violin

  • Beethoven
  • Symphony No. 7 in A Major

Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

50 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston
See map.


Buy Tickets

All tickets are assigned seating.

Advance Sales

$30 Adult, $25 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

At the Door Sales

$35 Adult, $30 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

Children Free

Children 12 and younger are admitted absolutely FREE, but must have an assigned seat.
Please call 847.864.8804 or email for all orders with children’s tickets.

Musical Insights

Free Pre-Concert Preview Series!

Enhance your concert experience with a sneak preview — Composers come alive and their passions take center stage when ESO General Manager David Ellis and ESO Maestro Lawrence Eckerling take you on an insider’s tour of the history and highlights behind the music.

Meet our soloist, William Hagen, at Musical Insights. He and our Maestro Lawrence Eckerling and David Ellis will explore the October concert program in depth.

The Merion
Friday, October 20 at 1:30 pm,
The Merion Crystal Ballroom at
1611 Chicago Avenue at Davis Street, Evanston.
FREE and open to the public.

Light refreshments will be served and casual tours of newly renovated apartments will be available after the program.


The Evanston Symphony Orchestra is proud to provide videos to educate you about the pieces we perform and, at times, the soloists who will be performing. The video(s) below are examples only and do not represent performances by the Evanston Symphony Orchestra unless noted.

Symphony No 7

Symphony No 7, fourth movement with Carlos Kleiber and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

Manfred Overture

With Yannick Nezet-Seguin and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe