You are here

May 2018 Concert

2:30 pm
Sunday May 13, 2018


The First Piano Concerto of Johannes Brahms is among his most important works and among the most difficult concertos ever composed. Its monumental nature is a direct descendent of another D Minor masterpiece, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. Thomas Pandolfi makes his ESO debut in its demanding solo role. Igor Stravinsky’s Firebird ballet is based on Russian folk legends and gave him his first major acclaim, and it has remained his “biggest hit” ever since its premiere in 1910. Stravinsky compiled several suites from the music for the complete ballet, and our season concludes with the longest of those suites, prepared in 1945.


Go To Videos

Musical Insights Free Pre-Concert Preview the Friday before this concert.
Learn How to Attend!

  • Corigliano
  • Promenade Overture
  • Brahms
  • Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor

    Thomas Pandolfi, piano

  • Stravinsky
  • Firebird Suite (1945)

Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

50 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston
See map.


Buy Tickets

All tickets are assigned seating.

Advance Sales

$30 Adult, $25 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

At the Door Sales

$35 Adult, $30 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

Children Free

Children 12 and younger are admitted absolutely FREE, but must have an assigned seat.
Please call 847.864.8804 or email for all orders with children’s tickets.

Musical Insights

Free Pre-Concert Preview Series!

Enhance your concert experience with a sneak preview — Composers come alive and their passions take center stage when ESO General Manager David Ellis and ESO Maestro Lawrence Eckerling take you on an insider’s tour of the history and highlights behind the music.

Meet our soloist, Thomas Pandolfi, at Musical Insights. He and our Maestro Lawrence Eckerling and David Ellis will explore the May concert program in depth.

The Merion
Friday, May 11 at 1:30 pm,
The Merion Crystal Ballroom at
1611 Chicago Avenue at Davis Street, Evanston.
FREE and open to the public.

Light refreshments will be served and casual tours of newly renovated apartments will be available after the program.


The Evanston Symphony Orchestra is proud to provide videos to educate you about the pieces we perform and, at times, the soloists who will be performing. The video(s) below are examples only and do not represent performances by the Evanston Symphony Orchestra unless noted.

Promenade Overture

Performed by the Symphony of Southeast Texas. Haydn's famous Farewell Symphony ends with the musicians departing from the stage until none remain; Corigliano reverses that process in this overture..

Firebird Suite

Andreas Delfs conducts Stravinsky's Firebird Suite in its 1945 version, which will performed at our concert. This version contains more music than the 1910 and 1919 versions of the suite..