You are here

March 2020 Concert

2:30 pm
Sunday March 15, 2020

Tchaikovsky 4

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony is among his greatest works, and combines festive Russian folk tunes with a hidden program based upon Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony and the struggle against fate. Irina Muresanu returns to the ESO in one of Prokofiev’s most lyrical inspirations, the Second Violin Concerto, which was composed while he was also working on his great ballet Romeo and Juliet. Khachaturian was Armenia’s most important composer; his Gayane is a full three act ballet highlighted by its “Sabre Dance.”


Go To Videos

Musical Insights Free Pre-Concert Preview the Friday before this concert.
Learn How to Attend!

  • Khachaturian
  • Four Dances from Gayane
  • Prokofiev
  • Violin Concerto No. 2

    Irina Muresanu, violin

  • Tchaikovsky
  • Symphony No. 4

Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

50 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston
See map.


Buy Tickets

All tickets are assigned seating.

Advance Sales

$32 Adult, $27 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

At the Door Sales

$37 Adult, $32 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

Children Free

Children 12 and younger are admitted absolutely FREE, but must have an assigned seat.
Please call 847.864.8804 or email for all orders with children’s tickets.


Irina Muresanu, violin

Irina Muresanu



Musical Insights

Free Pre-Concert Preview Series!

Friday, November 8 at 1:30 pm

Enhance your concert experience with a sneak preview — Composers come alive and their passions take center stage when ESO General Manager David Ellis and ESO Maestro Lawrence Eckerling take you on an insider’s tour of the history and highlights behind the music.

Meet our soloist, Mindy Kaufman, at Musical Insights. She and our Maestro Lawrence Eckerling and David Ellis will explore the November concert program in depth.

The Merion
Friday, November 8 at 1:30 pm,
The Merion Crystal Ballroom at
1611 Chicago Avenue at Davis Street, Evanston.
FREE and open to the public.
Please RSVP to 847-562-5318.

Light refreshments will be served and casual tours of newly renovated apartments will be available after the program.


The Evanston Symphony Orchestra is proud to provide videos to educate you about the pieces we perform and, at times, the soloists who will be performing. The video(s) below are examples only and do not represent performances by the Evanston Symphony Orchestra unless noted.


Irina Muresanu and the ESO in Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto.


Irina Muresanu plays the 2nd movement of the Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2.


The finale of Tchaikovsky's 4th Symphony with Daniel Barenboim and the Chicago Symphony in Carnegie Hall in 1997.