You are here

February 2024 Concert

2:30 pm
Sunday, February 11, 2024


Three of the Soviet Era’s greatest composers are featured, beginning with four dances from Aram Khachaturian’s ballet Gayane, including the justly famous Saber Dance. Dmitri Shostakovich wrote his Piano Concerto No. 2, a jubilant, humorous romp, for his 19-year-old piano student son, Maxim. Soloist Rick Ferguson is featured. Sergei Rachmaninoff wrote his Symphonic Dances, his final major composition and masterpiece in America. It is profound, beautiful, energetic, and sensuous.


Musical Insights Free Pre-Concert Preview the Friday before this concert.
Learn How to Attend!

  • Khachaturian
  • Four Dances from Gayane
  • Shostakovich
  • Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Major

    Rick Ferguson, piano

  • Rachmaninoff
  • Symphonic Dances

Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

50 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston
See map.


Buy Tickets

All tickets are assigned seating.

The Evanston Symphony Orchestra strongly recommends the proper wearing of masks at all times for audiences including while in line to enter, when in close proximity to others, and throughout the performance. At this time, masks are optional at Pick-Staiger Concert Hall and at The Merion during Musical Highlights events. (read more detail).

Advance Sales

$35 Adult, $30 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

At the Door Sales

$39 Adult, $34 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

Children Free

Children 12 and younger are admitted absolutely FREE, but must have an assigned seat.
Please call 847.864.8804 or email for all orders with children’s tickets.

Buy Mid-Season Subscription


Subscribers get first choice of the best seats in the section they desire.

Three-concert Subscription

$93.75 Adults, $82.50 Seniors, $15 Students


Rick Ferguson, piano

Rick Ferguson, piano




Musical Insights

Free Pre-Concert Preview Series!

February 9th, Friday, at 1:30 pm

Enhance your concert experience with a sneak preview — Composers come alive and their passions take center stage when ESO Maestro Lawrence Eckerling takes you on an insider’s tour of the history and highlights behind the music.

Meet our soloist, Rick Ferguson, at Musical Insights. He and our Maestro Lawrence Eckerling will explore the concert program in depth.


The Merion
Friday, February 9th at 1:30 pm,
Merion's Crystal Ballroom at
529 Davis St, Evanston.
FREE and open to the public.
Please RSVP to 847-570-7815.

Light refreshments will be served and casual tours of apartments will be available after the program.