You are here

April 2023 Concert

2:30 pm
Sunday, April 2, 2023


Pulitzer Prize winning composer Jennifer Higdon created her opera Cold Mountain in 2015, setting it to the 1997 Civil War novel by fellow North Carolinian Charles Frazier. A consortium of orchestras including the Evanston Symphony has now commissioned an orchestral suite drawn from this opera, and its Illinois premiere will open this concert. The most popular concerto in the piano repertoire, the First Concerto of Peter Tchaikovsky, will provide the long-planned ESO debut of the Armenian-American virtuoso Kariné Poghosyan. Felix Mendelssohn’s music was banned by the Nazis due to his Jewish birth, but he actually converted to the Lutheran faith at age seven. His “Reformation” Symphony honors Martin Luther and culminates in a setting of “A Mighty Fortress is Our God.”


Musical Insights Free Pre-Concert Preview the Friday before this concert.
Learn How to Attend!

  • Higdon
  • Suite from Cold Mountain
    Illinois Premiere
  • Tchaikovsky
  • Piano Concerto No.1 in B Flat Minor

    Kariné Poghosyan, piano

  • Mendelssohn
  • Symphony No. 5 in D Major “Reformation”

Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

50 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston
See map.


Buy Tickets

All tickets are assigned seating.

All patrons are required to be fully vaccinated, including a booster, and are required to show proof of vaccination (read more detail) to attend our 2022-23 subscription-series concerts. For the comfort and safety of everyone, masks also continue to be required for our performances. The ESO may make changes to vaccination/masking policies depending for future events.

Advance Sales

$34 Adult, $29 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

Auxiliary Seating, $25

Unreserved balcony seating on side of the hall above the Orchestra: $25.


A limited number of unreserved seats are available in the balcony above the stage at $25. See the brown and blue dots on the seat map between orchestra section and balcony to purchase.

At the Door Sales

$39 Adult, $34 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

Children Free

Children 12 and younger are admitted absolutely FREE, but must have an assigned seat.
Please call 847.864.8804 or email for all orders with children’s tickets.



Subscribers get first choice of the best seats in the section they desire.


Kariné Poghosyan, piano

Kariné Poghosyan, piano

Musical Insights

Free Pre-Concert Preview Series!

March 31, Friday, at 1:30 pm

Enhance your concert experience with a sneak preview — Composers come alive and their passions take center stage when ESO Maestro Lawrence Eckerling take you on an insider’s tour of the history and highlights behind the music.

Meet our soloist, Kariné Poghosyan, at Musical Insights. She and our Maestro Lawrence Eckerling will explore the concert program in depth.

The Merion
Friday, March 31 at 1:30 pm,
Merion's Crystal Ballroom at
529 Davis St, Evanston.
FREE and open to the public.
Please RSVP to 847-570-7815.

Light refreshments will be served and casual tours of apartments will be available after the program.